chauvi hafte / ਚੌਵੀ ਹਫ਼ਤੇ / twenty-four weeks

Week 23 – First week of medical school was a piece of cake. My eczema did not flare up at all even though it was really humid throughout the days and I walked about a mile to school.

Week 24 – Over the weekend, I started to get really itchy. I broke my diet by eating a ton of cheese at an Italian restaurant and eating dairy ice cream. Worth it though! I feel like I am going through another flare though. I itch almost everyday. On the days at the beginning of the week, I forgot to take my anti-histamine in the morning. However, on days that I did take it, I still itched, especially because it is so hot and I sweat easily but also at night when I’m sleeping even though I’m taking a Benadryl every night. Luckily, every time I itch there is no fluid coming out but sometimes I draw blood. My fingers have not flared up since the first week of July (woohoo!). Eye eczema has flared up a bit (swollen) but I think that’s mainly due to the fact that I’m not getting enough sleep. I’m still eating a lot of fruits though! I’m hoping that the itching and flaking subsides at the beginning of week 25.

 

Oh, also six months eczema free! This process was a lot tougher at the beginning than I anticipated and emotionally draining. However, it really seems like I am seeing real progress even though the patches are still present on my body.

One thought on “chauvi hafte / ਚੌਵੀ ਹਫ਼ਤੇ / twenty-four weeks

  1. Excellent work Benita. Curious to see if this coming week will be a flare or relief.

    Getting to six months is a huge milestone Benita. I’m really hoping that we are going to see major relief in this second half of the journey to 1 year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

