bai hafte / ਬਾਈ ਹਫ਼ਤੇ / twenty-two weeks

It’s been a while since I last posted! I didn’t even know what week I was on before I wrote this blogpost. In this blogpost I’m going to write a brief summary of each week that has passed since my last one. My eczema as of right now is relatively manageable and definitely better than it has been since the first four months!

Week 17 – During the weekend I went to Chicago for a school reunion! The patches on my hands went through a flare – whenever I itched ooze and  blood would come out. I started using a new oil on my hands because I couldn’t bring coconut oil with me on the airplane – S.W. Basics Three Ingredients Original Cream. I also kept my hands wrapped up for most of the week because they were really sore. My fingers didn’t go through a flare (yay!). My face oozed a bit on the sides but only at night.

Week 18 – Hands were pretty good this week! Face also didn’t cause too many problems. I traveled to Spain at the end of the week. I didn’t have any problems on the plane except for dryness.

Week 19 – At the beginning of the week (the second day into my trip), my eczema flared up badly! I think it was mostly due to the change in environment. I usually stay indoors but while traveling I was out walking in the heat for the majority of the day. My fingers had never swelled up this badly before and the fluid filled blisters returned. My hands also went through another sore and oozy spell. My face was very red and oozy at night. My neck was very very dry. The patch on my right arm was red throughout the trip. My eyes also swelled up like they did at the beginning of non-steroid use. I kept my hands and arm wrapped up and made sure to use tea tree oil to clean my hands. I was pretty upset but was still able to enjoy the week. Another note: I broke my diet and started eating gluten and dairy as well as junk food!

Week 20 (5 months!) – On my flight to Scotland, I kept my hands wrapped up and they became super dry and flaky. The flare was over! My eyes were still swollen throughout this week but less so than the previous week. When I woke up everything was extremely dry; however, I felt overall better. The weather was cooler in Scotland but I still didn’t follow my gluten-free and dairy-free diet.

Week 21 – I returned back to the states and on the plane was just extremely dry. Eyes were still swollen throughout this week. I made a roadtrip this week that involved 17 hours of driving and a ton of stress. I still didn’t return to my diet. My fingers flared up a bit with some fluid-filled blisters but the flare was mild: the blisters only covered the sides of my fingers and didn’t appear on the palm side. When I arrived to my destination my eyes were still swollen and I could barely move my face because it was so stiff. During my trip abroad I felt like the eczema on my face moved more towards my cheeks and whenever I would wake up my cheeks would be dry and flaky.

Week 22 – I finally returned to my diet and de-stressed. I saw my face de-swell and become more malleable. My face is also clearer and when I wake up there aren’t many flakes on my eyelids or cheeks! My hands are still itchy but they haven’t flared up in a while. My right arm has reduced in redness. I’ve started to take a Benadryl once a night.

During these six weeks I also saw the spread of my eczema – patches on my hands joined together. I don’t know if this is a good or bad sign but I’m hoping it will slow down soon.

One thought on “bai hafte / ਬਾਈ ਹਫ਼ਤੇ / twenty-two weeks

  1. Thank you Benita for this comprehensive update! Very relieved to hear you are doing better both in terms of eczema and stress. Wishing you the best of luck with this next phase of your journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

