sat hafte / ਸੱਤ ਹਫ਼ਤੇ / seven weeks

It’s been awhile since I’ve updated this blog. I’ve been pretty busy with family visiting and traveling but I will try to update the blog weekly from now on. Good news: my fingers are completely healed after all the flakes fell off! Bad news: my face has gotten really bad.

I can’t really pinpoint when my face started getting bad, but after I came back from traveling to New York two weeks ago, I started getting pretty bad acne. Usually my acne subsides within a couple of days but it took about two weeks for my face to start calming down. With my acne, my eyes started getting more swollen and the eczema on the bottom of my chin connected with the eczema below my mouth. I also have develop eczema on my cheeks. I don’t know what caused the flare but I’m thinking it could either be my face is finally reacting to not using steroids or my bedsheets. I tried experimenting with the products I use, thinking it could be something I’m using that is causing the flare. I don’t think it is though, I’ve stopped mostly every product I use everyday for a day at most and haven’t seen any significant changes. I might have to experiment a bit more if this is the cause.

My eczema may have also gotten worse because I’m eating worse. Over this past week, my cousins came over and we indulged on Chips Ahoy! cookies. They were so good but I’m going to have to cut back on sugar again. I got so excited about my hands that I started eating badly.

Finally, I’ve been really tired for the past couple of days. I’ve started taking vitamin D3 supplements as well as turmeric capsules. I’ll know in a few days if this is helping. A couple of articles online said there might be a connection between low vitamin D levels and eczema flares. Let’s cross our fingers to hope this is my case! I do avoid the sun as much as possible but I’ve never gotten my vitamin D levels checked before so this is more of an experiment. I’m hoping for the best!

A snapshot of my eczema:

Week7_Eczema Model

Face

Pretty much summed it up above. I’m really hoping the vitamins do something for it! My skin is bumpy on the sides of my eyes. My eyes are more swollen, as I mentioned before, and they are more itchy! I rub my eyes at least once a day. In the morning, the rash above my right eye is slightly flakey but today there were barely any flakes. The eczema on my cheeks is rough and on the right side it is slightly flakey. The Intensive Nourish Moisture Balm is really helping me keep the flakes at bay. Below my mouth my eczema has gotten really bad. It’s super dry there and when I do try and exfoliate there, it’s nearly impossible. The eczema is extremely rough and flakey. By midday I have to re-moisturize this area. My neck is nearly the same but has gotten really bad underneath my chin. It feels similar to the eczema below my mouth.

Arm

Itchy but pretty much stagnant. Over the past couple of days I have been itching it but between yesterday and today I haven’t really. I see some scabs in the morning sometimes. Interestingly, at night I don’t tend to moisturize this area but it has been manageable.

Hands

The patches on my hands have been stagnant as well. They are still present even after all the flakes from two weeks ago have fallen off. Some of them are a bit itchy like the patch on the underside of my right wrist. The flakes on my fingers have removed all the blisters and the eczema with them. I’m so happy that I can actually move my fingers now!

 

Almost at the two month mark! After doing a lot of research on other people’s topical steroid withdrawal, it seems like the two month mark is when the eczema flares up unforgivingly. I’m ready to face this to be eczema free!!

3 thoughts on “sat hafte / ਸੱਤ ਹਫ਼ਤੇ / seven weeks

  1. Thanks so much for the update Benita ! I know the going has been tough for the past two weeks, but you are doing excellent ! I totally agree – the changes to sugar intake, sheets and vitamin d should have a big impact. Bringing in your research on the two month mark for flares for other eczema patients is super interesting. Let’s push forward for this next month and get past this hump. Keep up the amazing work Benita !!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

