punj hafte / ਪੰਜ ਹਫ਼ਤੇ / five weeks

The past week was really difficult to get through but I’m really seeing progress after making all the changes I have to the products I am using and my diet as well as staying on top of things.

My shipment from 100% Pure came in and I’m really happy with all the products!

Week5_Eczema Model

Face

My face seems to be doing relatively the same. I do get the odd flare on my right eye and random swollen right eye in the morning, but otherwise everything is constant.

I started using a new toothpaste on Friday: Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint Toothpaste. This toothpaste is awesome because it doesn’t foam! I haven’t noticed a big change in the eczema under my lip but I want to give it a week before I jump to conclusions. Over the weekend I had one day where there was no flakiness under my lip but the following day it returned. It may have been related to my toothpaste change or it may have not.

The eczema on my neck (especially under my chin) seems to have gotten worse. It’s a bit flakier than normal. I noticed this especially when I woke up on Monday but that may have been due to the fact that I was on a plane and didn’t get a chance to moisturize before I slept.

Arm

Over the weekend I do remember itching my elbow pit eczema a ton. It’s started to flake now though, which I think is a good sign of healing.

Hands

SO MUCH PROGRESS WITH MY HANDS! I started to use EczaCalm on Thursday and that seems to help with the itchiness and dryness. However, I noticed that my hands started to flake on Friday and so I decided to use the EczaCalm only when I really needed it. From the looks of it, it seems like the blisters have dried up and are falling off. I really want this to be a natural healing process but sometimes the flakes get in my way and I peel them off (gross, I know). On Monday I used The Spoil Yourself Silly Body Scrub to exfoliate my hand eczema after my shower and that seemed to help. On Friday I stopped wearing cotton gloves and on Monday I also felt comfortable enough to take a shower without protective gloves!

The flakiness is mostly done with the eczema spots on my hands. The skin there looks pretty raw but it’s not red anymore. A doctor friend told me that it looks like I have nummular eczema on my hands. My dyshidrotic eczema on my fingers is still flaking and the areas that have become “de-flaked” are a bit raw too. I still can’t properly bend my fingers but in the shower I tried and I can! I still have my tight grip. I need to still give my hands some time to heal but they have made so much progress over the course of a week.

Whenever I’m at home I use Foaming Herbal Hand Soap Unscented to wash my hands. It seems to dry out my hands a bit but it doesn’t cause any burning. When I’m out I tend to just wash my hands with water. I really want my hands to heal properly and do not want to use any unknown soaps with harmful chemicals in them. I am going to try out Extra Gentle Baby Wash and potentially bring this with me when I’m out to stay hygienic.

Scalp

I’m going to add this section in because my scalp has been super dry and flaky for the past week. I don’t think I have eczema on my scalp but I will continue to monitor it. I’ve started using Burdock & Neem Healthy Scalp Shampoo and Conditioner. I will keep you updated on any progress/setbacks.

Overall

I really think the soap I was using was the cause of my hand eczema. I’m so happy that I was able to catch the cause and I hope my hands continue to improve without steroids. I have to wash more things with my new detergent (Molly’s Suds) to really see the effects of that on my face and elbow pit. Things are looking up and I’m exciting to see the healing process for this upcoming week.

One thought on “punj hafte / ਪੰਜ ਹਫ਼ਤੇ / five weeks

  1. Very exciting stuff Benita! The diagram itself is testimony to the progress. No news is good news for the face (because your face has already been doing so well) and the hands have seen sooo much progress. Exfoliating was a great idea.

    Let’s definitely monitor the scalp – esp with the new shampoo/conditioner.

    I’m really happy with all the 100% Pure products and the new detergent – excited to continue to see them do their work. Keep it up Benita !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

