chaar hafte / ਚਾਰ ਹਫ਼ਤੇ / four weeks

I can’t believe it’s been a month since I stopped using topical steroids! I’m so excited with the progress I have made and am proud of the resilience I have to keep this going.

My eczema:

week4_eczema-model

Face:

It seems like the left and right patches by the sides of my eyes have gotten slightly better but are still present. My right eye is still flared up and swollen and now the skin below my right eye is pretty rough. I wouldn’t call it eczema but it doesn’t have the same texture as the other parts of my face. I do remember waking up one night and rubbing my right eye like crazy but that was towards the beginning of the week. The skin below my left eye flared up on Thursday quite badly. I really think this might have to do with what I’m eating so I’m being a bit more careful about what I’m putting into my body – I’m going to start with eating less sugar from processed food and see if there is a noticeable difference.

The skin below my lip is still pretty bad – I have to moisturize this area at least twice a day for it not to look white and flaky. The eczema on my neck and underneath my chin is still present but hasn’t bothered me for a while.

Arms/Hands:

To start this section off: on Wednesday I thought it would be a great idea to rub the flakes off my hands in the shower. Instant gratification but TERRIBLE IDEA! My hands were red when I got off and tight! I’ve been keeping better care of my hands but that was one setback.

The eczema on my right hand has actually spread to my ring finger and middle finger. This happened during the third week but it has stayed. I also have some possibly related eczema bumps on the back of my right hand. Will keep a close eye on this.

The eczema on my left hand is still relatively the same. I have patches on the back of my hand and the blisters have returned to my fingers.

My right elbow pit is doing a bit better. At the beginning of the week it was pretty itchy so I would scratch it and wake myself up in the middle of the night. I believe yesterday was the first day that I didn’t wake up from itching. This doesn’t mean that I am not itching at night though!

Yesterday I received Calming Eczema Cream! I immediately put it on my hands. One difference I noticed is that the Calming Eczema Cream doesn’t immediately get soaked up by the skin on my hands. Instead, it stays on my skin for a while. On the other hand, the Coconut Hand Buttercream and Intensive Nourish Moisture Balm get soaked up by my hand eczema immediately and its effects are not as long lasting (such as preventing itchiness). I’m hoping to see that the Calming Eczema Cream actually prevents itchiness. I plan to use this cream for a week and will report back on updates during the “five week” blogpost update!

Overall:

I knew this was going to be a long process when I started but I didn’t know the toll it would take on me. I was volunteering at an event and I had to put up decorations with another volunteer. I was embarrassed that my hands looked the way they did and tried my best to hide them from the other volunteer. What’s keeping me going is the fact that my hands will be brand new and eczema free after this fight!

If I keep thinking positive I know my eczema will get better!

One thought on “chaar hafte / ਚਾਰ ਹਫ਼ਤੇ / four weeks

  1. Loved the post Benita! One month is a huge victory. You have beared it all and are doing amazing.

    I also liked that you are looking forward to being eczema free and not needing to hide your hands. Benita – even in the intermediate time that you are fighting eczema, you don’t need to hide your body. The more you are embarrassed about your body, the longer the eczema will stay because you will try unconsciously to take off flakes in the shower, scratch at night, be stressed… all of which lead to more eczema. Benita you are a beautiful person. Every piece of you is beautiful from your hands to your face to who you are inside. Please wear this beautiful person that you are with pride for the next year. Eczema won’t be able to stand in your way then, you will be too strong for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

