itihaas / ਇਤਿਹਾਸ / history

Welcome to Our Saphar! For a bit of context, saphar means journey. I decided to name my blog this to share my journey with eczema to make it our journey. This is my first blogpost and I’m excited to start the journey of being eczema free with my friends who stumble upon this page. The purpose of this blog is to follow my experiences with being topical steroid free and to see the cessation of my eczema.

Now, a bit of history about my eczema. I had my first eczema flare-up during elementary school behind my knees. I started using topical steroids and soon found that my eczema disappeared. Come middle and high school, however, my eczema moved up to the pit of my arm and my neck. It soon moved to my face (more specifically my right eye). I used topical steroids on and off and visited the dermatologist many times. It was college when it got really bad. I moved to Chicago from Florida and during the winter of 2014 eczema creeped up to my entire palm, the back of my hands, and my scalp. I went to an allergist and started using Betamethasone Dipropionate Cream 0.05% (for my hands), Fluticasone Propionate Cream 0.05% (for my face), and Ketoconazole 2% Shampoo. In 2015 I was fed up with using these creams but not seeing any results. I also wanted to wean off using topical steroids on my face. I went cold turkey during the summer and stopped using moisturizer. I felt terrible – my eyes were swollen, my cheeks started to peel, and I couldn’t sleep without waking up in the middle of the night to scratch. I could not deal with this (especially because I was preparing for the MCAT) so I went to a dermatologist in Chicago. From that summer up until now, I’ve been using Desoximetasone Cream 0.25% (for my hands) and Tacrolimus Ointment 0.1% (for my face). I did not use these creams everyday but rather used them whenever I had a bad flare-up.

Now, I decided (on February 3, 2017) that I want to try and get myself off of these treatments and use natural, pure, and vegan products to heal my body. The eczema on my face now flares-up underneath my lip, on top of the right eyelid, and underneath my left eye. The eczema on my left hand is on the ring and middle finger, the skin right before my left thumb, and on the left side of the back of my wrist. The eczema on my right hand is on my pinky, the back skin before my right pointer finger, the left side of the back of my wrist, and the underside of my wrist (right in the middle). I also have eczema on my neck and in the pit of my right arm.  I’m going to keep track of where my eczema is progressing/retrogressing through this blog. You can find my daily routine and updates to it in the “Routine” section.

Thank you for reading and I hope you come back to read updates of where we are in my eczema journey.

2 thoughts on “itihaas / ਇਤਿਹਾਸ / history

Leave a Reply

